• BCS LogoAbout the BCS Board of Education

    The Barker Central School District Board of Education consists of seven members who are elected by district voters to serve three year terms of office. Board members receive no compensation for their efforts.

    The Town of Somerset and parts of Hartland, Newfane, Ridgeway and Yates comprise the Barker District. The Board of Education is incorporated under New York’s Education Law and is responsible for educating students who attend the District’s schools, preparing an annual budget and adhering to the law.

    Board of Education meetings are open to the public and are held on the third Monday of each month. Meetings and work sessions start at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Conference Room, 192. Residents are encouraged to attend these meetings. The open forum portion of each meeting gives residents an opportunity to express their views and provide community input to the members of the Board.

    Randall B. Atwater, President
    John E. Sweeney, Vice President
    Heather Ecker
    Candice Gancasz
    Mary Jo Clemens-Harris
    Louis J. Mead
    Virginia Voss